South Australian Medicines Advisory Committee (SAMAC)

The South Australian Medicines Advisory Committee (SAMAC) was established in July 2010 as an expert committee of the SA Department for Health and Ageing to encourage the appropriate, equitable, safe and cost-effective use of medicines in SA.

SAMAC provides a resource for SA Health, South Australian hospitals and healthcare professionals in the delivery of advice on the equitable and quality use of medicines in SA to provide all South Australians with access to quality, safe, complete and affordable health care.

SAMAC's role

The role of SAMAC includes:

  • Promoting consistency in the development of guidelines and strategies relating to the use of medicines within South Australia.
  • Providing an objective evaluation of the clinical benefits, safety and costs of medicines that are proposed for use in public health facilities to promote rational therapeutic drug use.
  • Undertaking activities relating to the monitoring of medicines use to ensure best practice.
  • Dissemination of medicines advice to the community, enabling consumers to make informed decisions on the use of medicines.

SAMAC membership

Chaired by Professor Randall Faull, SAMAC is composed of representatives covering the spectrum of health disciplines across the public and private sectors and other bodies with an interest in the use of medicines.

See below for a full listing of members.


SAMAC welcomes communication regarding SAMAC initiatives and issues affecting medicines and medicines use across South Australia, particularly issues relevant to SA Health. For further information about SAMAC please contact the SAMAC Executive Officer by email or phone (08) 8204 1941.

SAMAC membership

Representative area Name Job title and area

Professor Randall Faull

Senior Consultant in Nephrology, Royal Adelaide Hospital

Central Adelaide Local Health Network

Associate Professor Mary White

Senior Consultant in Intensive Care, Royal Adelaide Hospital

Country Health SA Local Health Network

Ms Jenny Pink

Director of Pharmacy Services, Country Health SA LHN, SA Pharmacy

Dr Hendrika Meyer

Executive Director of Medical Services Country Health SA LHN

Northern Adelaide Local Health Network

Dr Michael Cusack

Executive Director of Medical Services, Northern Adelaide Local Health Network (Chair NALHN DTC)

Mr Richard Marotti

Director of Pharmacy Services, Northern Adelaide LHN, SA Pharmacy

Southern Adelaide Local Health Network

Mr Vaughn Eaton

Director of  Pharmacy Services, Southern Adelaide LHN, SA Pharmacy

Dr Stephen Hedger

Director General Medicine, Flinders Medical Centre (Chair SALHNDTC)

Women’s and Children’s Health Service

Dr Chris Pearson

Paediatrician, Department of General Medicine, Women’s & Children’s Hospital (Chair WCHN DTC)

Mr Sean Turner

Director of Pharmacy Services, Women’s & Children’s Health Network, SA Pharmacy

Chief Medical Officer, SA Health

Professor Paddy Phillips

Chief Medical Officer, SA Health

Chief Nursing and Midwifery Officer, SA Health (nominee)


Director, Medicines and  Technology Programs, SA Health

Ms Naomi Burgess

Interim Chief Pharmacist / Director, Medicines and Technology Programs, SA Health

Community Pharmacy

Mr Grant Kardachi

Pharmacy/Accredited Pharmacist & Past President, Pharmaceutical Society of Australia (PSA)

Hospital Pharmacy

Ms Anna McClure

Director of Pharmacy Services, Central Adelaide LHN, SA Pharmacy

General Practice / Royal Australian College of General Practitioners

Professor Nigel Stocks

Head of Discipline of General Practice, University of Adelaide

Private Hospitals Vacant  

Ms Allison Willis

Representative, Health Consumers Alliance of South Australia

Chair, SA expert Advisory Group on Antimicrobial Resistance (SAAGAR)

Dr Morgyn Warner

Consultant Physician, Microbiology and Infectious Diseases, SA Pathology, CALHN (TQEH & Royal Adelaide Hospital)

Chair, South Australian Formulary Committee (SAFC)

Dr Tilenka Thynne

Clinical Pharmacologist & Endocrinologist, Southern Adelaide LHN

Chair, South Australian Medicines Evaluation Panel ( SAMEP)

Professor Catherine Hill

Staff Specialist Rheumatology Unit, The Queen Elizabeth Hospital and Royal Adelaide Hospital

Chair, South Australian Medication Safety Advisory Group( SAMSAG)

Ms Naomi Burgess

Interim Chief Pharmacist / Director, Medicines and Technology Programs, SA Health

Chair, SA Psychotropic Drugs Committee (SAPDC)
Dr John Brayley
Chief Psychiatrist, SA Health
Adelaide Primary Health Network
Ms Deb Lee
Chief Executive Officer, Adelaide Primary Health Network
Pharmacology and Medicines Policy

Emeritus Professor Felix Bochner

Clinical Pharmacology, Royal Adelaide Hospital

Executive Officer

Ms Rachael Cheh

Senior Pharmacist, Medicines & Technology Programs, SA Health


SAMAC sub-committees and working groups

SAMAC is supported by multidisciplinary expert standing committees and working groups to address specific medicines issues. These committees will provide stakeholders with opportunities for robust discussion, debate, and evaluation of medicines issues. Current SAMAC sub-committees include:


^ Back to top