South Australian Medicines Evaluation Panel (SAMEP)

The South Australian Medicines Evaluation Panel (SAMEP) was established in 2011 as an expert standing committee of the South Australian Medicines Advisory Committee (SAMAC) to ensure that all public hospitals provide a consistent approach to the management of High Cost Medicines. The main role of SAMEP is to review the use of High Cost Medicines, for a list of medicines being reviewed or previously reviewed, see the High Cost Medicine reviews page. 

SAMEP were the winners of the 2014 SA Health Award "Excellence in Non-clinical Services"

Their role

The role of SAMEP includes:

  • Evaluating the safety, the clinical efficacy and cost-effectiveness of high cost medicines proposed for inclusion in the Statewide High Cost Medicines Formulary.
  • Initiating reviews to evaluate the safety and effectiveness of high cost medicines which are not registered for use within Australia for the purpose of providing guidance to local hospital drug committees with regards to consideration of individual patient use requests.
  • Making recommendations to SAMAC with regards to which high cost medicines should be made available in South Australian public hospitals and on the potential place in therapy of these medicines.
  • Facilitating the monitoring of high cost medicine use in South Australian public hospitals.

Meeting dates

SAMEP meet every two months to review high cost medicine formulary applications. Scheduled meetings for 2020 are:

  • 9 September
  • 11 November


Chaired by Associate Professor Catherine Hill, SAMEP includes specialist clinicians, pharmacists, health economists, an ethicist and a consumer representative. Members include:

  • Professor Catherine Hill, Chair Staff Specialist Rheumatology Unit, The Queen Elizabeth and Royal Adelaide Hospitals
  • Dr Damian Clark Paediatric Neurologist, Women's and Children's Hospital
  • Dr Chris Pearson General Medicine, Women's and Children's Hospital
  • Dr Ganessan Kichenadasse Consultant, Medical Oncology, Flinders Medical Centre
  • Dr Sudarsha  Selva-Nayagam Director Medical Oncology, Royal Adelaide Hospital
  • Dr Michael Ward Lecturer, School of Pharmacy and Medical Sciences, University of South Australia
  • Ms Joy Gailer Clinical Pharmacist, Drug and Therapeutics Information Service, Repatriation General Hospital
  • Ms Catherine Booth Clinical Pharmacist, Women's and Children's Hospital
  • Ms Kirsty Scarborough Senior Pharmacist, Royal Adelaide Hospital
  • Professor Tracy Merlin Manager, Adelaide Health technology Assessment, University of Adelaide
  • Dr Jennie Louise Senior Statistician and ethicist, Adelaide Health Technology Assessment
  • Dr Benjamin Reddi Staff Specialist, Intensive Care Unit, Royal Adelaide Hospital
  • Ms Naomi Burgess Director, Medicines & Technology Programs, SA Health (ex officio)
  • Dr Pravin Hissaria Clinical Immunologist and Immunopathologist, Royal Adelaide Hospital
  • Ms Camille Schubert Health Economist, Adelaide Health technology Assessment, University of Adelaide
  • Dr David Ross Department of Haematology and Bone Marrow Transplantation, The Royal Adelaide Hospital
  • Ms Laura Zanin, Executive Office Senior Pharmacist, Medicines & Technology Programs, SA Health


All enquiries regarding the High Cost Medicines policy or SAMEP should be directed to the Executive Officer to SAMEP at