South Australian Medication Safety Advisory Group (SAMSAG)

The delivery of safe, quality health care is fundamental to the strategic directions of SA Health. SAMSAG is the peak SA Health advisory group to promote the safe use of medicines in South Australia.

Terms of reference (PDF 123KB)


SAMSAG roles are to:

  • support consistency and linkage between national and state agendas and action at Local Health Network (LHN) level
  • identify policy directions, priorities and strategic directions for service development and delivery, relevant to medication safety and medication safety-related research
  • ensure communication and information flow between local, state and national stakeholders
  • facilitate a culture of shared learning and ongoing practice improvement regarding medication safety.

Working groups

Working groups may be formed as required to a specific project or area of work. These groups will develop policies and provide direction for implementation of strategies at a local level to increase medication safety in priority areas.

Further information

For further information on SAMSAG and it's role, e-mail 


Chaired by Naomi Burgess, Director Medicines and Technology, Programs, includes doctors, pharmacists, nurses and a consumer representative.

Representation Position Name
Medicines and Technology Policy & Programs (MTPP) Director Ms Naomi Burgess (Chair)
 Executive officer, SAMSAG Vacant
Senior Specialist Pharmacist Ms Kaye Barratt
Central Adelaide Local Health Network Deputy Director, Pharmacy Services – Glenside Campus
Ms Kirsty Scarborough
Director, Clinical Governance, CALHN A/Prof Grant Phelps
Nursing Director, Medical Specialties, CALHN Ms Susan Waters
Consumer Consumer representative Mrs Helen Mikolaj
Country Health SA Local Health Network (CHSALHN) Chair, CHSALHN Medication Safety Committee Vacant
Director of Nursing, Naracoorte Health Service Ms Pam Schubert
Executive Officer, CHSA LHN Drug and Therapeutics Committee Ms Kylies Moore
(Proxy Ms Jenny Pink)
Northern Adelaide Local Health Network (NALHN) Palliative Care Consultant, NALHN Dr Mil Chan
Nursing Director Critical Care – Emergency Departments, NALHN Mr Andrew McGill
Director of Pharmacy Services, NALHN Mr Richard Marotti
Mental Health   Vacant
Nursing and Midwifery Project Nurse, Nursing and Midwifery Office Ms Carla Artini
SA Ambulance Service (SAAS) Senior Pharmacist, Patient Safety and Quality Mr Peter Hayball
Safety and Quality Senior Project Officer, Safety and Quality Ms Anita Chambers
Southern Adelaide Local Health Network (SALHN) Anaesthetic Consultant & Chair, Medication Safety Advisory Group, SALHN Dr Mervyn Atkinson
Manager Clinical Governance Unit Ms Genevieve Sturman
Deputy Director, Pharmacy, Flinders Medical Centre Ms Rebecca Larcombe
Women's and Children's Health Network (WCHN) Medication Safety Consultant, Women’s and Children’s Hospital Ms Sophie Sennar
Director of Pharmacy, Women’s and Children’s Hospital/SA Pharmacy Mr Sean Turner


^ Back to top