South Australian Formulary Committee (SAFC)

The South Australian Formulary Committee (SAFC) was established October 2012 with the mission to develop and maintain the South Australian Medicines Formulary (SAMF). A statewide approach will optimise the quality use of medicines, improve and promote equity of access to medicines for patients and increase the cost-effectiveness of medicine use across SA Health.

Operating as a subcommittee of South Australian Medicines Advisory committee (SAMAC), the SAFC has a diverse range of expert membership across all Local Health Networks. Expertise includes a broad range of medical specialities, pharmacy, nursing, economic/epidemiological expertise and a consumer advocate.

SAFC will consider all medicines used and proposed for use within SA public hospitals and health services within therapeutic classes to determine a core list of medicines suitable for use across SA Health.

Formulary development

During formulary development and maintenance the SAFC will undertake consultation with key clinical stakeholders including Drug and Therapeutic Committees (DTCs), and key specialists or experts in the field. SAFC will work closely with the SA Health eHealth team to ensure that clinicians are supported to prescribe according to the formulary and optimise consistency of approach across the state.

High cost medicines will continue to be evaluated by SA Medicines Evaluation Panel (SAMEP).


South Australian Formulary Committee Membership at May 2021

Chair - Dr Nicholas Farinola, Clinical Pharmacologist, General Physician, Royal Adelaide Hospital

Junior Medical - Dr Justin Baker, Registrar in Clinical Pharmacology, Flinders Medical Centre

Women's and Children's HN - Ms Catherine Booth / Ms Cassandra Mosel, Formulary Pharmacist, Women's and Children's Health Network

Medicines and Technology Programs - Director, Medicines and Technology Programs (MTP), SA Health

Pharmacist - Ms Celine Chee, Specialist Pharmacist – Quality Use of Medicines, Northern Adelaide Local Health Network

Junior Medical - Dr Alex Choo, Clinical Pharmacology Trainee, Royal Adelaide Hospital

Pharmacist - Dr Pascale Dettwiller, Regional Lead Pharmacist: Eyre and Far North Region Local Health Network; Associate Professor Research, University of Adelaide Rural Clinical School

Nurse/Midwifery/Nurse Practitioners - Ms Debra Earl, Nurse Practitioner, Acute Cardiac Assessment, Lyell McEwin Hospital

SA Pharmacy, Statewide Procurement & Formulary Portfolio Lead - Mr Vaughn Eaton, Director of Pharmacy, Southern Adelaide Local Health Network, SA Pharmacy

Nurse/Midwifery/Nurse Practitioners - Ms Sharon Horn, Nurse Practitioner, Comprehensive Epilepsy Program, Central Adelaide Local Health Network

Senior Medical - Dr Caroline Lake, Consultant Anaesthetist, Flinders Medical Centre

Junior Medical - Dr Xiu Qin Lim, Clinical Pharmacology Trainee, Flinders Medical Centre / Addiction Medicine Physician DASSA

Senior Medical - Dr Angela Molga, Clinical Pharmacologist, Central Adelaide Local Health Network Geriatrician, Northern Adelaide Health Network

Health Economist, A/Prof John Moss, Associate Professor, School of Population Health, University of Adelaide

Senior Medical - Dr Lynette Rose, Senior Consultant Psychiatrist, Head of Marion Psychosis Unit, Southern Adelaide Local Health Network

Junior Medical - Dr Angela Rowland, Clinical Pharmacology Trainee, Royal Adelaide Hospital

Pharmacist - Mr Ray Skinner, Lead Pharmacist (SA Pharmacy) Yorke & Northern Local Health Network

Consumer Representative - Mrs Lynda Whiteway

Executive Officer - Ms Rachael Cheh, Senior Pharmacist, SA Pharmacy

Further information

For further information or any enquiries relating to formulary applications or processes please contact the SAFC Executive Officer by email or phone (08) 8204 8998.