An authorised witness can also certify copies of the original Advance Care Directive.

The following persons, or classes of persons, are authorised witnesses:

  • Registered professionals such as teachers, nurses, doctors or pharmacists.
  • Lawyers or Justices of the Peace (JP).
  • Local, State or Commonwealth Government employees with more than 5 years continuous service.
  • Bank managers or police officers with more than 5 years continuous service.
  • Ministers of religion or marriage celebrants.

Eligible authorised witnesses

Eligible authorised witnesses also include:

  • Agents of the Australian Postal Corporation in charge of an office supplying postal services to the public or permanent employees of the Australian Postal Corporation with 5 or more years continuous service.
  • Australian Consular Officers or Australian Diplomatic Officers.
  • Bailiffs, sheriffs, sheriff’s officers.
  • Chief executive officers of Commonwealth Courts.
  • Clerks of Courts.
  • Commissioners for taking affidavits and/or declarations.
  • Employees of the Australian Trade Commission, or employees of the Commonwealth who are in a country or place outside Australia.
  • Fellows of the National Tax and Accountants’ Association.
  • Statutory Office Holders.
  • Judges of Courts, Magistrates or Masters of Court or Court Registrars or Deputy Registrars.
  • Members of: Governance Institute of Australia, Engineers Australia, Association of Taxation and Management Accountants, Australasian Institute of Mining and Metallurgy.
  • Australian Defence Force Officer or non-commissioned officer or a warrant officer with 5 or more years of continuous service.
  • Members of the Institute of Chartered Accountants in Australia, CPA Australia (Certified Public Accountants) or the Institute of Public Accountants.
  • Members of Commonwealth, State or Territory legislatures/Parliaments, or local, State or Territory government authorities.
  • Notary public.
  • Patent attorneys or trade mark attorneys.
  • Senior Executive Service employees of the Commonwealth or a Commonwealth, State or Territory authority.
  • Veterinary surgeons.