Gawler District Health Advisory Council Inc.

Health Advisory Councils across Country South Australia provide advice to their local Health Services and to the Minister for Health and Wellbeing.

A major role is to relay ideas and views from the Community to the local Health Service. The ideas are used in planning for new and improved services. It is exciting times for the Gawler and Districts Health Advisory Council as there are opportunities to represent and provide a voice for our Community in a way which they have not done before.


Gawler Health Advisory Council (HAC) Inc.can include

  • Up to 8 community members
  • A nominee of local government
  • A local member of Parliament or his or her nominee
  • A medical practitioner member
  • A worker from the Local Health Network

Current membership

Presiding member - Kathy Crossing
Local member of parliament
- Robin Stecker
Local council representative - David Hughes
Staff member - Sue Renshaw (Gawler Hospital – A/Director of Nursing & Midwifery)
Staff member - Mary-Ann Spicer (BHFR Community Health)

Community representatives

  • Martin Gehlert (Chair)
  • Nancy Mitchell
  • Morgan Smith
  • Lorrain Kirk
  • Naomi Reschke
  • Derek Cruickshank

Meeting information

When: 4th Thursday of each month
Time: 6.00 pm for a 6.30 pm start
Where: Gawler Health Service




Any person may leave property to the Gawler and Districts Health Advisory Council Inc. (HAC) by way of a Will. The gift may be in the form of real property i.e. land (left by devise) or personal property of any description including money, investments, goods and actionable rights (left by bequest). Any bequest may be for any purpose connected with the provision of health services or any of the functions of the Gawler Health Service.

To find out more please refer to the Gawler HAC Bequest Policy and Procedure (PDF 116KB).


Martin Gehlert
Gawler District Health Advisory Council Inc.
C/- Gawler Health Service
PO Box 195
Gawler SA 5118