Chief Public Health Officer

The current Chief Public Health Officer for SA Health is Professor Nicola Spurrier.

The Chief Public Health Officer role has accountability for public health and communicable disease issues. The Chief Public Health Officer also advises the Minister and the Chief Executive of SA Health about proposed legislative or administrative changes related to public health and about other matters relevant to public health.

Three deputy Chief Public Health Officers have been appointed to support the work of our Chief Public Health Officer in leading South Australia’s response to the COVID-19 pandemic:

  • Dr Evan Everest, Senior Intensive Care Consultant (FMC) / Deputy State Controller Health
  • Dr Michael Cusack, Chief Medical Officer
  • Dr Chris Lease, Executive Director, Health Protection and Licensing Services

Each deputy will take responsibility for streams of work to ensure every area of the health system receives close attention.

Dr Everest will lead areas such as clinical systems and high acuity, which includes ICU surge capacity and possible elective surgery re-scheduling. Dr Cusack will lead primary care and out-of-hospital services such as aged care and the National Disability Insurance Scheme. Dr Lease will lead whole-of-government work including areas such as education, corrections and child protection.

Contact us

COVID-19 enquiries phone 1800 253 787
All other enquiries please email