Overview: about the agency (LCLHN Annual Report 2020-21)

Our strategic focus

Our purpose

Limestone Coast Local Health Network (LCLHN) delivers a comprehensive range of public acute, residential aged care, community health and mental health services, throughout 10 public hospitals/health services in regional South Australia, according to population needs, focusing on integrating its service delivery with metropolitan hospitals and other service providers in regional locations.

Our Vision

To be the best rural health service

Our Values

  • Customer Focus
  • Collaboration
  • Caring
  • Creativity
  • Courage

Our functions, objectives and deliverables

Limestone Coast Local Health Network provided a wide range of public acute, residential aged care, community health and mental health services to country communities.

Limestone Coast Local Health Network’s key objectives were to:

  • build innovative and high-performing health service models that deliver outstanding consumer experience and health outcomes
  • pursue excellence in all that we do
  • create a vibrant, values-based place to work and learn
  • harness the power of partnerships to improve the effectiveness of services
  • elevate and enhance the level of health in country communities.

Limestone Coast Local Health Network’s key deliverables were to:

  • provide safe, high-quality health and aged care services
  • engage with the local community and local clinicians
  • ensure patient care respects the ethnic, cultural and religious rights, views, values and expectations of all peoples
  • ensure the health needs of Aboriginal people are considered in all health plans, programs and models of care
  • meet all legislation, regulations, Department for Health and Wellbeing policies, and agreements

Our organisational structure

Changes to the agency

During 2020-21 there were no changes to the agency’s structure and objectives as a result of internal reviews or machinery of government changes.

Our Minister

Hon Stephen Wade MLC is the Minister for Health and Wellbeing in South Australia.

The Minister oversees health, wellbeing, mental health, ageing well, substance abuse and suicide prevention.

Our Executive Team

As at 30 June 2021 the Executive team consisted of:

  • As at 30 June 2020 the Executive team consisted of:
  • Chief Executive Officer – Ngaire Buchanan
  • Executive Director of Medical Services – Dr Elaine Pretorius
  • Executive Director of Nursing and Midwifery – Paul Bullen
  • Executive Director of Community and Allied Health – Marcy Lopriore
  • Chief Finance Officer – Kristen Capewell
  • Director of Aboriginal Health – Kathryn Edwards
  • Director of Corporate Services – Ravinder Singh
  • Director of Governance and Planning – Angela Miller
  • Director of Mental Health – Pauline Beach
  • Director of People and Culture – Peta-Maree France
  • Regional Quality, Risk and Safety Manager – Hannah Morrison

Legislation administered by the agency


Other related agencies (within the Minister's area/s of responsibility)

  • Barossa Hills Fleurieu Local Health Network
  • Central Adelaide Local Health Network
  • Commission on Excellence and Innovation in Health
  • Department for Health and Wellbeing
  • Eyre and Far North Local Health Network
  • Flinders and Upper North Local Health Network
  • Northern Adelaide Local Health Network
  • Office for Aging Well
  • Riverland Mallee Coorong Local Health Network
  • SA Pathology
  • South Australian Ambulance Service
  • Southern Adelaide Local Health Network
  • Wellbeing SA
  • Women’s and Children’s Health Network
  • Yorke and Northern Local Health Network