South Australian Medication Safety Advisory Group (SAMSAG)

The delivery of safe, quality health care is fundamental to the strategic directions of SA Health. The SAMSAG is an SA Health advisory group promoting enhanced patient outcomes through the safe use of medicines in hospitals and the wider community. The SAMSAG is a sub-committee of the South Australian Medicines Advisory Committee (SAMAC).

Terms of reference (PDF 123KB)


SAMSAG roles are to:

  • support consistency and linkage between national and state agendas and action at Local Health Network (LHN) level
  • identify policy directions, priorities and strategic directions for service development and delivery, relevant to medication safety and medication safety-related research
  • ensure communication and information flow between local, state and national stakeholders
  •  facilitate a culture of shared learning and ongoing practice improvement regarding medication safety.


Chaired by Ms Naomi Burgess, SAMSAG membership includes doctors, pharmacists, nurses and a consumer representative.

SAMSAG membership at October 2020:

Office of the Chief Pharmacist

  • Ms Naomi Burgess (Chair), Chief Pharmacist
  • Ms Jacinta Nagle (Executive Officer), Senior Pharmacist

Barossa Hills Fleurieu Local Health Network

  • Vacant

Central Adelaide Local Health Network

  • Ms Anita Abarno, Director of Pharmacy Services
  • Dr Angela Molga, Clinical Pharmacologist

Consumer Representative

  • Mrs Helen Mikolaj

Eyre and Far North Local Health Network

  • Jim McMenemy, Executive Officer/Director of Nursing, Wudinna & Kimba Health Services
    Flinders and Upper North Local Health Network
  • Ms Angela McLachlan, Executive Director, Nursing and Midwifery

Limestone Coast Local Health Network

  • Pam Schubert, Director of Nursing, Naracoorte Health Service

Mental Health

  • Vacant

Northern Adelaide Local Health Network

  • Dr Mil Chan, Palliative Care Consultant
  • Mr Richard Marotti, Director of Pharmacy Services
  • Mr Andrew McGill, Director of Nursing (Operations)

Nursing and Midwifery

  • Vacant

SA Ambulance Service

  • Dr Peter Hayball, Principal Pharmacist, Patient Safety and Quality

Riverland and Mallee Coorong Local Health Network

  • Vacant

Rural Support Service

  • Ms Jennifer Pink, Director of Pharmacy Services

Safety and Quality

  • Vacant

Southern Adelaide Local Health Network

  • Dr Zoe Adey-Wakeling, Senior Consultant Rehabilitation, Aged Care and Palliative Care
  • Ms Joanne Izzo, Nurse Unit Manager
  • Ms Rebecca Larcombe, Deputy Director Pharmacy – Clinical Medicine

Women's and Children's Health Network

  • Mr Faisal Saeed, Quality Improvement Consultant, Clinical Governance
  • Ms Sophie Sennar, Medication Safety Consultant
  • Mr Sean Turner, Director of Pharmacy Services

Yorke and Northern Local Health Network

  • Ms Jodie Bowman, Director of Nursing and Midwifery, Port Pirie Regional Health Service

Further information

For further information email