South Australian Policy Advisory Committee on Technology (SAPACT)

The South Australian Policy Advisory Committee on Technology (SAPACT) is an expert advisory committee to the South Australia (SA) Department for Health and Wellbeing. It was convened in May 2014 to establish statewide governance, evaluation and policy advice regarding the use of high-cost and high-risk health technologies in SA.

Health Technology Assessment Policy Directive (PDF 337KB)


The role of SAPACT includes:

  • Evaluates the safety, clinical effectiveness and cost effectiveness of high-risk and high-cost non-drug health technologies for use in SA public hospitals.
  • Provides evidence-based recommendations and expert advice in the implementation of new technology in existing model of care and the retirement of obsolete technologies.
  • Promotes equity of access to health technologies in SA.
  • Advises the SA Department on the impact of new health technologies.

For more information, refer to the Terms of reference (PDF 180KB) and SAPACT Horizon Scanning for New Technologies (PDF 375KB).

Scope of evaluation

SAPACT considers non-drug health technology comprising of diagnostic and treatment interventions including diagnostic tests, prostheses, implantable devices and medical and surgical procedures for health technologies not already subject to assessment via other pathways and:

  • Predicted health system expenditure is:
  • ≥ $100,000 for a Local Health Network (LHN) per year; or
  • ≥ $300,000 within the SA public health system per year; or
  • The technology is Therapeutic Goods Administration (TGA) Class III or Active Implantable Medical Device (AIMD), regardless of anticipated expenditure associated with its introduction; or
  • There is potential for system-wide efficiency or quality benefits from a statewide approach to technology implementation.

For more information, refer to the TGA Class III / AMID medical device classification (PDF 346KB).

Application submissions

Clinicians may submit an application for a high-cost or high-risk health technology through their LHNs to SAPACT, following the SAPACT referral pathway.

Meeting dates

SAPACT meets five times a year to review applications for high-risk and high cost health technologies referred by the LHNs.

The last meeting scheduled for 2020 is on 20 November.


SAPACT membership is comprised of Senior Clinicians from all Local Health Networks (LHNs) nominated by the LHN CEOs, Experts in Health Technology Assessment (HTA), Health Economics and Research Ethics and Leads in the SA Health Department HTA Program, Clinical Commissioning, Procurement and a Consumer Representative.

  • Professor Guy Maddern (SAPACT Chair). RP Jepson Professor of Surgery; Discipline Leader – Surgery, Faculty of Health and Medical Sciences; University of Adelaide; Director of Research, Basil Hetzel Institute for Translational Health Research, TQEH
  • Ms Naomi Burgess (SAPACT Convenor) Chief Pharmacist and Director, Medicines and Technology Programs, SA Health
  • Dr Deborah Chen Manager – Health Technology Assessment (HTA) Program, Medicines and Technology Programs, SA Health
  • Dr Gerry O'Callaghan Executive Director, Medical & Clinical Governance, CALHN
  • Professor Rob Padbury Clinical Director, Division of Surgery and Perioperative Medicine, SALHN
  • Dr John Maddison Acting Executive Director of Medical Services, Acting Divisional Director (Medical) Critical Care, NALHN
  • Dr Cindy Molloy Executive Director, Medical Services, WCHN
  • Dr Hendrika Meyer Chief Clinical Advisor Rural Support Service, SA Health
  • Dr Elaine Pretorius Executive Director of Medical Services, Limestone Coast LHN
  • Dr Mau Nam Wee Deputy Director of Medical Services, Barossa Hills Fleurieu LHN
  • Professor John Beltrame Michell Professor of Medicine, University of Adelaide; Director of Research, CALHN, and Consultant Cardiologist
  • Professor Brendon Kearney Site Clinical Director, SA Pathology
  • Dr Benjamin Reddi Senior Consultant, Intensive Care Unit, Royal Adelaide Hospital
  • Dr Brita Pekarsky Principal Advisor, Health Economics & Analytics, SA Ambulance
  • Dr David Hunter Senior Lecturer in Ethics and Professional Practice, Faculty of Health and Medical Sciences, University of Adelaide
  • Mr David Tamblyn Team Leader, Adelaide Health Technology Assessment (AHTA)
  • Dr David Tivey Research Manager - Research & Evaluation, incorporating ASERNIP-S, Royal Australasian College of Surgeons
  • Mr Kenneth Lang Manager, Planning and Clinical Commissioning, SA Health

Health Technology Assessment Decision summaries


For all enquiries, kindly contact Dr Deborah Chen, Manager HTA Program, at or (08) 7117 9807.