Eastern Eyre Health Advisory Council Inc.

The Eastern Eyre Health Advisory Council Inc (Lower Eyre HAC) is a voluntary body that consults with the local community on health needs and priorities, provides advice based on community views to SA Health, and assists with providing information to the community about health and aged care services.

A major role of the Eastern Eyre HAC is to discuss health issues, priorities, and needs within our community and advise and advocate on behalf of that community to the Eyre and Far North Local Health Service (EFNLHN), which owns and operates the local hospital, GP Practice, health and aged care services, and is part of SA Health.

These ideas are used in planning for new and improved services.

The Eastern Eyre HAC also provides advice to the Minister for Health and Wellbeing and the EFNLHN Governing Board on matters that affect or are of interest to the local community.


Eastern Eyre Health and Aged Care was formed in July 2000 and came to being with the amalgamation of Cleve District Health and Aged Care, Kimba District Health and Aged Care, and Cowell Community Health and Aged Care.

The amalgamation process was undertaken to enable the communities in the District Council areas of Cleve, Franklin Harbour, and Kimba to form a Multi-Purpose Service and access the Commonwealth Rural Health Service funding for Primary Health Care.

Following the amalgamation, there has been a huge increase in the primary health focus which is seen as a most valuable service to complement the existing acute, and residential care services that have been available for many years.

Eastern Eyre Health and Aged Care is charged with providing a comprehensive range of health, aged, and community services to the cluster communities of Cleve, Franklin Harbour, and Kimba.

To ensure this range of services meets the needs of the three communities and is provided from a cost-effective and equitable basis, significant organisational and financial development at cluster level has taken place over recent years.

Meeting information

When: bi-monthly on the last Tuesday
Time: 7.00 pm
Location: alternate between face to face at Kimba and Video Conference at each site.


The Eastern Eyre Health Advisory Council can include:

  • Up to 8 community members
  • Nominee of local government
  • A local member of Parliament or his or her nominee
  • A medical practitioner member
  • A worker from EFNLHN

Current membership

  • Presiding member – Dean Haniford
  • Local member of parliament – Vacant
  • Nominee of local government – Sue Chase
  • Medical practitioner member - Vacant
  • Staff member – Lynette Rush
  • Community representatives -
    • Bev Story
    • Kae Darling
    • Kim Baum




Dean Haniford
Eastern Eyre Health Advisory Council Inc
c/- Cowell Hospital
17 South Terrace
Cowell SA 5602