South Australian Policy Advisory Committee on Technology (SAPACT)

The South Australian Policy Advisory Committee on Technology (SAPACT) is an expert advisory committee to the South Australia (SA) Department for Health and Wellbeing. It was convened in May 2014 to establish statewide governance, evaluation and policy advice regarding the use of high-cost and high-risk health technologies in SA.

Health Technology Assessment Policy Directive (PDF 337KB)


The role of SAPACT includes:

  • Evaluates the safety, clinical effectiveness and cost effectiveness of high-risk and high-cost non-drug health technologies for use in SA public hospitals.
  • Provides evidence-based recommendations and expert advice in the implementation of new technology in existing model of care and the retirement of obsolete technologies.
  • Promotes equity of access to health technologies in SA.
  • Advises the SA Department on the impact of new health technologies.

For more information, refer to the Terms of reference (PDF 180KB) and SAPACT Horizon Scanning for New Technologies (PDF 375KB).

Scope Of Evaluation

SAPACT considers non-drug health technology comprising of diagnostic and treatment interventions including diagnostic tests, prostheses, implantable devices and medical and surgical procedures for health technologies not already subject to assessment via other pathways and:

  • Predicted health system expenditure is:
  • ≥ $100,000 for a Local Health Network (LHN) per year; or
  • ≥ $300,000 within the SA public health system per year; or
  • The technology is Therapeutic Goods Administration (TGA) Class III or Active Implantable Medical Device (AIMD), regardless of anticipated expenditure associated with its introduction; or
  • There is potential for system-wide efficiency or quality benefits from a statewide approach to technology implementation.

For more information, refer to the TGA Class III / AMID medical device classification (PDF 346KB).

Application Submissions

Clinicians may submit an application for a high-cost or high-risk health technology through their LHNs to SAPACT, following the SAPACT referral pathway.

Meeting Dates

SAPACT meets quarterly to review applications for high-risk and high cost health technologies referred by the LHNs. Scheduled meetings are:

  • 1 May 2020
  • 10 July 2020
  • 4 September 2020
  • 20 November 2020


Chaired by Professor Guy Maddern, the SAPACT membership includes Chairs of SA Health LHNs New Technology Committees, SA Department representatives, research and clinical experts, health economist, ethicist and consumer representative. 

  • Professor Guy Maddern (SAPACT Chair). Professor Maddern's appointements include:
    • RP Jepson Professor of Surgery, University of Adelaide;
    • Clinical Director, Surgical Services, CALHN
    • Head, Department General Surgery, TQEH
    • Head, Upper Gastrointestinal Unit, TQEH
    • Director of Research, Basil Hetzel Institute, TQEH
    • Surgical Director, ASERNIP-S Royal Australasian College of Surgeons;
    • Coordinator, Rural Surgical Services, University of Adelaide
    • Surgical Clinical Director, Country Health SA LHN
    • Past President, Health Technology Assessment International
  • Ms Naomi Burgess SAPACT Convenor Interim Chief Pharmacist and Director, Medicines and Technology Programs and Out of Hospital Pharmacy Services, SA Health
  • Dr Deborah Chen SAPACT Executive Officer. Senior Scientific Officer – Health Technology Assessment, Medicines and Technology Programs, SA Health
  • Professor Rob Padbury Clinical Director, Division of Surgery and Perioperative Medicine, Southern Adelaide Local Health Network (SALHN)
  • Dr Michael Cusack Executive Director Medical Services, Northern Adelaide Local Health Network (NALHN); Chair, Procedures and Services Committee, NALHN
  • Dr Cindy Molloy Executive Director, Medical Services, Women's and Children's Health Network (WCHN)
  • Dr Jayanthi Jayakaran Director Medical Services, Barossa Hills Fleurieu Region. Chair, CHSA Health Technology and Clinical Practice Innovation Subcommittee
  • Professor John BeltrameMichell Professor of Medicine, University of Adelaide; Cardiology Academic Lead, CALHN
  • Professor Brendon Kearney Consultant, Haematology Unit, Royal Adelaide Hospital (RAH)
  • A/Prof David Hunter Associate Professor of Medical Ethics, Flinders University School of Medicine
  • Dr Brita Pekarsky Manager Intergovernment Relations, Finance and Corporate Services, DHW
  • Dr Hendrika Meyer Executive Director of Medical Services, Country Health South Australia Local Health Network (CHSALHN)
  • Dr Benjamin Reddi Senior Consultant, Intensive Care Unit, Royal Adelaide Hospital
  • Mr Ken Lang Manager, Planning and Clinical Commissioning, SA Health
  • Mr Quinton Swann Observer Director, Procurement and Supply Chain Management, SA Health
  • Ms Anne Mussared Consumer Representative, Health Consumer Alliance
  • Mr David Tamblyn Team Leader, Adelaide Health Technology Assessment (AHTA)
  • Dr David Tivey Research Manager - Research & Evaluation, incorporating ASERNIP-S, Royal Australasian College of Surgeons
  • Dr Gerry O'Callaghan A/Executive Director, Medical & Clinical Governance, CALHN

Health Technology Assessment Decision summaries


For all enquiries, kindly contact Dr Deborah Chen, SAPACT Executive Officer/Senior Scientific Officer – HTA, at or (08) 8226 7375.