COVID-19 Testing Requirements

30 July 2020

Travellers entering SA from NSW, Victoria and ACT

As of 12:01am on Wednesday July 29, only essential travellers are permitted to enter SA from Victoria. 

Essential travellers in categories defined as commercial transport and freight, remote and isolated workers or cross border community members and approved to enter by SA by police must produce evidence on request to an Authorised Officer (e.g. SA Police Officer) of a COVID-19 test having been taken or a result of a test taken that is not more than seven days old. These people should obtain a test as soon as practicable within the seven day period, but can still travel across the border into SA once within this period.  Self-quarantine restrictions may still apply.

All other Essential Travellers (other than those mentioned above or passing through) are required to partake in the mandatory COVID-19 testing on day 1 and 12 of entry into SA.

For more information refer to the Essential Traveller table available at

Anyone with symptoms of COVID-19 must self-isolate while waiting for test results.

Doctors are asked to:

  • Test all people presenting that meet the above criteria, and provide documentation of their test results or that a test has been taken and results are pending. 

  • Test everyone who presents with symptoms of COVID-19, even if mild, as high levels of testing are essential for early detection and containment of cases.

    • Acute respiratory infection (e.g. cough, sore throat, shortness of breath, runny nose) OR

    • Fever OR history of fever or chills in the absence of an alternative diagnosis that explains the clinical presentation OR

    • Acute unexplained loss of smell or altered sense of taste OR

    • New onset of other clinical symptoms compatible with COVID-19 (headache, myalgia, nausea, vomiting, diarrhoea) who are close contacts of a confirmed case of COVID-19; or who have returned from overseas or interstate in the past 14 days.

For all enquires please contact the CDCB on 1300 232 272 (24 hours/7 days)

Dr Louise Flood – Director, Communicable Disease Control Branch
For updated information on notifiable diseases in South Australia visit: