Gawler District Health Advisory Council Inc.

Health Advisory Councils across Country South Australia provide advice to their local Health Services and to the Minister for Health.  

A major role is to relay ideas and views from the Community to the local Health Service. The ideas are used in planning for new and improved services. It is exciting times for the Gawler and Districts Health Advisory Council as there are opportunities to represent and provide a voice for our Community in a way which they have not done before.


Gawler Health Advisory Council (HAC) Inc.can include

  • Up to 8 community members
  • A nominee of local government
  • A local member of Parliament or his or her nominee
  • A medical practitioner member
  • A worker from Country Health SA




Any person may leave property to the Gawler and Districts Health Advisory Council Inc. (HAC) by way of a Will. The gift may be in the form of real property i.e. land (left by devise) or personal property of any description including money, investments, goods and actionable rights (left by bequest). Any bequest may be for any purpose connected with the provision of health services or any of the functions of the Gawler Health Service.

To find out more please refer to the Gawler HAC Bequest Policy and Procedure (PDF 116KB).


Pru Blackwell
Gawler District Health Advisory Council Inc.
C/- Gawler Health Service
PO Box 195
Gawler SA 5118

Currrent membership

Member Name
Presiding member Prudence (Pru) Blackwell
Local member of parliament Constance (Mary) Coffey
Local government member David Hughes
Medical practitioner member Vacant
Staff member Vacant
Community representative Emma Griffiths
Community representative Martin Gehlert
Community representative Kathy Crossing
Community representative Nancy Mitchell
Community representative Vicky Cooper
Community representative Derek Cruickshank
Community representative Lorrain Kirk


Meeting information

The Gawler Health Advisory Council holds regular meetings on the 4th Thursday of each month from 6.00 pm for a 6.30 pm start.

Meetings are held at the Gawler Health Service. 

^ Back to top