Aged care facility visitation in South Australia - COVID-19

To reduce the spread of COVID-19, the State Coordinator has made a Direction under the Emergency Management Act 2004 to limit entry into residential aged care facilities in South Australia.

The Emergency Management (Residential Aged Care Facilities No 5) (COVID-19) Direction 2020 has been revoked and replaced by the Emergency Management (Residential Aged Care Facilities No 6) (COVID-19) Direction 2020 (PDF 408KB).

The updated Direction introduces changes to conditions for entry into residential aged care facilities and exemptions that apply. It protects residents, staff and others from the risk of transmission of COVID-19, while supporting the rights and wellbeing of residents and their families. Changes include:

  • Residents may now leave an aged care facility and return for any reason.
  • Children under the age of 16 years are now able to visit, provided that they have had their flu vaccination (babies under 6 months are exempt from the flu vaccination requirement).
  • Care and support visits are limited to one visit per day by up to two people, however, aged care facilities are now able to approve additional visits where this is appropriate or necessary.
  • Visitors coming from the Northern Territory, Western Australia, Tasmania or Queensland are now permitted to visit aged care facilities upon arrival in South Australia. Visitors coming from other states/territories are only permitted to visit within 14 days if they are providing end of life support to a resident (and are required to self-quarantine at all other times).

This new Direction came into effect on 20 June 2020 at 00:01 am . It will remain in place until it is updated or removed.

Visit the Residential aged care facilities page on the South Australian Government website for more information and to view the Direction.

Requesting an exemption in exceptional circumstances

SA Health authorised officers are able to provide exemptions to the Direction if they believe exceptional circumstances exist. All requests for exemptions must be made in writing to the Department for Health and Wellbeing via Requests should include contact details and any information relevant to the request, including the urgency of the situation.

Interstate travellers

All interstate travellers must complete a cross border pre-approval form at least 72 hours prior to arrival into South Australia. The cross border travel application form is available from SA Police.

For more information