# South Australian Antimicrobial Resistance Action Plan (SAAMRAP) Steering Committee

## **Terms of Reference**

#### Introduction

Antimicrobial resistance (AMR) is a major global threat to the health of humans, animals, the environment, and has implications for food safety, trade, and the economy. The overuse and misuse of antimicrobials is a major factor driving AMR, which will ultimately threaten our ability to treat infectious diseases.

One Health is an approach which recognises the interrelatedness of human health, animal health and the health of our environment. The Australian Government has released *Australia's National Antimicrobial Resistance Strategy – 2020 and Beyond,* and the One Health Master Action Plan (OHMAP), which highlight the importance of tackling AMR using a One Health approach.

## **Purpose**

The South Australian Antimicrobial Resistance Action Plan (SAAMRAP) Steering Committee will develop a state-wide AMR Action Plan in accordance with *Australia's National Antimicrobial Resistance Strategy – 2020 and Beyond.* The first South Australian AMR Action Plan will be developed in consultation and collaboration, with a multi-disciplinary and cross-sector approach, aiming to identify priority objectives to preserve the effectiveness of antimicrobials and minimise the development and spread of AMR within South Australia.

#### Role

- Consider the objectives in the National Strategy and prioritise areas for action in South Australia
- Coordinate wider stakeholder consultation into the development of the Action Plan
- Consider and incorporate feedback from consultation into the development of the Action Plan
- > Develop the final Action Plan for endorsement state-wide
- > Guide development of a communications plan regarding the finalised Action Plan
- > Develop an implementation plan and evaluation strategy for the Action Plan

## Accountability

The South Australian Antimicrobial Resistance Action Plan Steering Committee will be accountable to the Premier of South Australia.

## Membership

The Steering Committee consists of a cross-sectoral team, with members representing organisations from human and animal health, and the environmental and agricultural sectors:

This includes, but is not limited to:

Australian Veterinary Association (AVA)

South Australian Antimicrobial Resistance Action Plan Steering Committee – Version 1.0 (May 2022)



- Department for Environment and Water
- Department of Primary Industries and Regions SA (PIRSA) Chief Veterinary Officer
- Environmental Protection Authority (EPA)
- National Antimicrobial Utilisation Surveillance Program (NAUSP)
- Pharmaceutical Society of Australia (PSA)
- Primary Producers SA
- Research Australian Centre for AMR Ecology (ACARE), The University of Adelaide
- Research Future Industries Institute (UniSA) (CRC SAAFE)
- Research Human Health (SAHMRI)
- Royal Australasian College of Dental Surgeons (RACDS) SA Branch
- Royal Australasian College of Physicians (RACP) SA Branch
- Royal Australasian College of Surgeons (RACS) SA Branch
- > Royal Australian College of General Practitioners (RACGP) SA Branch
- > SA Health Chief Public Health Officer
- > SA Health Antimicrobial Programs, Communicable Disease Control Branch (CDCB)
- > SA Health SA Pathology
- SA Water
- School of Animal & Veterinary Sciences The University of Adelaide
- South Australian Expert Advisory Group on Antimicrobial Resistance (SAAGAR)
- Veterinary Surgeons Board of South Australia

Executive support is provided by the Communicable Disease Control Branch (CDCB).

The organisations represented in the Steering Committee will be responsible for the communication and collaboration with their associated organisations, which form the wider stakeholder group.

## Chairperson

The Steering committee will be co-chaired by the Chief Public Health Officer, SA Health, and the Chief Veterinary officer, Department of Primary Industries and Regions SA.

## Meetings

- > The Steering Committee will meet 4 times per year.
- > Secretarial support will be provided by the CDCB and meeting papers will be prepared in consultation with the Chair people.
- Meeting papers are circulated to members at least three days prior to the meeting.
- > The minutes of the meeting will be prepared by the Secretariat. They will provide a concise and focused report of decisions and actions taken. Minutes will be made available to members in a timely manner.
- Proxies for meeting attendance will be accepted with prior arrangement with the Executive Officer.
- A quorum shall consist of at least 50% of membership. The Chair people of the committee must consider whether the mix of attendees at any particular meeting is adequate to deal with the issues on the agenda and make a determination. If a meeting of members does not have a quorum within twenty minutes after the commencement time of the meeting, the meeting may proceed informally or be adjourned to a date and time determined by the Chair people.

South Australian Antimicrobial Resistance Action Plan Steering Committee - Version 1.0 (May 2022)

#### Resolutions

- Resolutions are reached by a majority of members present. A resolution made while a meeting is proceeding informally shall not be final but will require to be confirmed by a later meeting at which a quorum is present.
- > The Chair people may call for a vote on any matter requiring resolution and may have the vote taken again if in doubt as to the result. Voting will normally be by voice or show of hands but may be by secret ballot if requested by any member.
- To resolve some matters in a timely manner, the Chair people may elect to determine the Committee's decision by way of out-of-session vote or resolution. A written proposal(s) will be circulated to members, usually by email, and a time and date will be specified for responses to be returned. A resolution shall only be made if supported by a majority of responding members.

## **Funding and Secretariat**

Meeting expenses and secretariat are provided by the Communicable Disease Control Branch, Department for Health and Wellbeing.

Members of the SA AMR Action Plan Steering Committee representing organisations external to SA Health may be eligible for financial reimbursement as a result of their participation in the Committee meetings. Refer to <a href="Sitting Fees and Reimbursement for External Individuals">Sitting Fees and Reimbursement for External Individuals</a> <a href="Policy">Policy</a> for further information.

#### **Declarations of Interest**

Prior to each meeting steering Committee members must report any declarations of interest whether actual, potential, apparent, or appear likely to arise. These will be considered by the Chair and the Communicable Disease Control Branch. Each declaration is classified as follows relevant to each agenda item: exclusion from discussions, participation but not permitted to be involved in endorsement of decisions, or declaration only included for transparency purposes. At each meeting members are asked to advise of any additional declarations of interest.

## For more information

Communicable Disease Control Branch
Department for Health and Wellbeing
Email: Health.AMRSecretariat@sa.gov.au
www.sahealth.sa.gov.au







 ${\hbox{$\mathbb{Q}$ Department for Health and Wellbeing, Government of South Australia. All rights reserved to the second of the second$ 

South Australian Antimicrobial Resistance Action Plan Steering Committee - Version 1.0 (May 2022)