State functional services during an emergency

State functional services are distinctly different from day-to-day business operations and generally include a number of related organisations which can be used to bring about a result during an emergency.

There are 13 state functional services within the emergency management arrangements in South Australia:

  • Animal and agriculture
  • Ambulance and first aid (SA Ambulance Service, Royal Flying Doctor Service, St John Australia, State Rescue Helicopter Service)
  • Communications
  • Community services
  • Defence
  • Engineering
  • Fire
  • Health and medical (private hospitals, Private Hospitals Association, Red Cross Blood Transfusion Service, Australian Medical Association, Australian Nursing Federation, Institute of Medical and Veterinary Science, local government - health, specialist colleges, Divisions of General Practice)
  • Logistics (includes supply and catering)
  • Media
  • Police
  • State emergency service
  • Transport


^ Back to top