South Australia's outstanding nurses and midwives

Some of South Australia’s most outstanding health workers are in the running for the 2017 Nursing and Midwifery Excellence Awards, to be presented next month.

SA Health Chief Nurse and Midwifery Officer, Adjunct Associate Professor Lydia Dennett said the annual awards honour those working in the public and private sectors in acute, primary healthcare, rural and remote, aged care, research and education fields.

“These awards provide an opportunity to celebrate the important role that nurses and midwives have in the provision of healthcare across our state,” said Adj Assoc. Professor Dennett.

“There are eight different categories that nurses and midwives can be nominated in.

“These categories recognise the significant contribution they make to their professions by increasing the body of knowledge which informs and strengthens clinical decision making, teaching and learning practices, health care outcomes and policy reform.

“The award winners will be announced at a special gala dinner which will be held on 12 May at the Adelaide Entertainment Centre.

“The gala dinner fittingly coincides with a week of celebrations starting with International Day of the Midwife (5 May) and wrapping up with International Nurses Day (12 May).”

Award winners will each receive a trophy and prize money of $1000 in recognition of their achievements.

Five 2017/18 South Australian Premier’s Nursing and Midwifery Scholarships to the value of $12,000 will also be presented to nurses and midwives so they can undertake overseas observational study tours in their chosen field.

The 2017 South Australian Nursing and Midwifery Excellence Awards finalists are:

  • Karen Barwick (Site Manager of Perry Park and Interprofessional Learning Clinical Lead, ACH Group).
  • BloodMove (Country Health SA).
  • Breast Care Nursing Team at St Andrew's Hospital.
  • Sally Broers (Nurse Education Facilitator, Renal/Dialysis Units, Southern Adelaide Local Health Network).
  • James Carroll (Enrolled Nurse in Mental Health, Crammond Clinic, The Queen Elizabeth Hospital).
  • Professor Marion Eckert (Director of the Rosemary Bryan AO Research Centre and Cancer Care Research Chairperson, University of South Australia).
  • Julie Hall (Enrolled Nurse and Quality Officer, Ardrossan Hospital)
  • Associate Professor Alison Hutton (Flinders University, School of Nursing and Midwifery).
  • Viv London (Healthy Living Team Leader, Registered Nurse and Registered Midwife, Port Pirie Regional Health Service).
  • Michelle Marsh (Women’s Assessment Unit Clinical Service Co-ordinator, Lyell McEwin Hospital).
  • Lisa McCall (Enrolled Nurse, Gastroenterology Department Clinical Research, Women’s and Children’s Hospital).
  • Jessica McKenzie (Registered Midwife, Women’s and Children’s Hospital).
  • Paediatric Accelerated Care through Emergency (Northern Adelaide Local Health Network).
  • Georgina Paterson (Registered Nurse Cystic Fibrosis Service, Clinical Services Co-ordinator Pulmonary Rehabilitation, Chest Clinic, Department of Thoracic Medicine, Royal Adelaide Hospital).
  • Lisa Redden (Senior Midwife and Diabetic Link Nurse, Birthing Assessment Unit, Lyell McEwin Hospital).
  • Susan Saies (Stomal Therapy Nurse, St Andrew’s Hospital).
  • Southern Adelaide Palliative Services Clinical Research Nursing Team (Palliative Care Clinical Studies Collaborative).
  • Trudi Verrall (Clinical Education Lead, BloodSafe eLearning Australia, Women’s and Children’s Hospital).
  • Jenny Willing (Registered Midwife, Ashford Hospital).
  • Sophie Winnicki (Associate Clinical Service Co-ordinator, Thoracic Procedure Suite, Royal Adelaide Hospital).
  • Dana Wright (Clinical Practice Consultant, Disability Services and Rehabilitation, Women’s and Children’s Hospital).

For more information about the awards or scholarships, please visit the website\nursingandmidwifery

^ Back to top