Mount Gambier Hospital independent review

Monday, 28 November 2016

Country Health SA has commissioned an independent review of Mount Gambier Hospital as part of its ongoing commitment to deliver high quality health services.

The review will be conducted by Dr Chris Baggoley, Executive Director of Medical Services, Southern Adelaide Local Health Network and Mr Andrew McGill, Nursing Director Critical Care Emergency Department, Northern Adelaide Local Health Network.

The Chief Executive Officer Maree Geraghty said that Dr Baggoley and Mr McGill have extensive experience in service review and development, and in Australia’s health systems.

“Providing services that are high quality and safe is paramount and Country Health SA continuously reviews its services to ensure they adapt to and meet changing community needs,” Ms Geraghty said.

“The review led by Dr Baggoley and Mr McGill will focus on improving the smooth and safe flow of patients through Mount Gambier’s emergency department and the hospital.”

“It will also examine the effectiveness and efficiency of the way care is provided and explore medical staffing and supervision in the wards and the emergency department.”

Ms Geraghty said conducting the review was indicative of Country Health SA’s commitment to the communities it serves and to its staff.

“Our staff at Mount Gambier Hospital work tirelessly to provide their local community with the very best of care and we are committed to ensuring we have the right structures and mechanisms in place to support them in their vital work.”

As part of the process, staff will be given opportunities to engage directly with the review team.

“The review will give our staff another avenue through which they can provide their insights and feedback, so we can ensure we identify areas for improvement and address concerns and issues,” Ms Geraghty said.

“We are encouraging all staff to engage in the review process.”

The review will begin on 8 December 2016. Country Health SA expects to receive its recommendations in early 2017.

^ Back to top