Lyell McEwin doctor wins prestigious award

Tuesday, 15 November 2016

The Lyell McEwin Hospital’s Dr Gajen Perry has been named Junior Doctor of the Year 2016 for the Confederation of Postgraduate Medical Education Councils (CPMEC), ahead of representatives from each Australian state and territory and New Zealand.

Chief Executive Officer, Northern Adelaide Local Health Network, Jackie Hanson said 31-year-old Dr Perry is a Registrar in the Acute Surgical Unit and since moving from Canada has become a key member of staff at the Lyell McEwin Hospital.

“We are fortunate to have many young doctors, nurses and allied health professionals working across the Northern Adelaide Local Health Network,” Ms Hanson said.

“Dr Gajen Perry is an outstanding young doctor and all of us at the NALHN are proud of him for winning this prestigious award.”

Dr Perry first thought about becoming a doctor during primary school, when his grandfather was sick in hospital however he initially pursued a career in sales and marketing in Canada where he had grown up.

After a friend applied to study medicine in Australia, Dr Perry decided to change careers and study medicine in Australia before embarking on his career at the Lyell McEwin Hospital.

Dr Perry said he loves his job and was thrilled to win the prestigious award.

“When I moved to Australia in 2010 to study medicine I didn’t know what to expect as I recently changed careers,” Dr Perry said.

“I love being a doctor at the Lyell McEwin Hospital. One day a patient can be incredibly unwell and you investigate, diagnose, operate and then get the opportunity to watch them improve.

“I meet with patients who come through the Emergency Department and require surgery, make a plan with them for their surgical needs and then undertake that surgery.

“The other great thing about my job is that in any one shift you collaborate with staff from across a number of disciplines including health staff, intensive care nurses and nutritionists.

“I’ve learned my most valuable lessons from my peers and colleagues and I hope I will be able to pass on what I’ve learned to other junior doctors.

“Winning this award is a real honour and I want to thank my family, colleagues and the Northern Adelaide Local Health Network.”

Gajen’s colleagues Kathy Wright and Glenda Battersby nominated him for SA Junior Doctor of the Year.

“Gajen’s professional activities have been numerous and outstanding,” Ms Wright said.

“That’s why when we saw the nominations we didn’t hesitate in nominating him and he thoroughly deserves this award.”

The Confederation of Postgraduate Medical Education Councils (CPMEC) is an association of Postgraduate Medical Councils (PMCs) of each State or Territory in Australia and the equivalent agency in New Zealand.

^ Back to top