South Australian Medicines Evaluation Panel (SAMEP)

The South Australian Medicines Evaluation Panel (SAMEP) was established in 2011 as an expert standing committee of the South Australian Medicines Advisory Committee (SAMAC) to ensure that all public hospitals provide a consistent approach to the management of High Cost Medicines. The main role of SAMEP is to review the use of High Cost Medicines, for a list of medicines being reviewed or previously reviewed, see the High Cost Medicine reviews page. 

SAMEP were the winners of the 2014 SA Health Award "Excellence in Non-clinical Services"

Their role

The role of SAMEP includes:

  • Evaluating the safety, the clinical efficacy and cost-effectiveness of high cost medicines proposed for inclusion in the Statewide High Cost Medicines Formulary.
  • Initiating reviews to evaluate the safety and effectiveness of high cost medicines which are not registered for use within Australia for the purpose of providing guidance to local hospital drug committees with regards to consideration of individual patient use requests.
  • Making recommendations to SAMAC with regards to which high cost medicines should be made available in South Australian public hospitals and on the potential place in therapy of these medicines.
  • Facilitating the monitoring of high cost medicine use in South Australian public hospitals.

Meeting dates

SAMEP meet every two months to review high cost medicine formulary applications. Scheduled meetings for 2017 are:

  • 8 February
  • 12 April
  • 14 June
  • 11 October
  • 29 November


Chaired by Associate Professor Catherine Hill, SAMEP includes specialist clinicians, pharmacists, health economists, an ethicist and a consumer representative.

See below for a full listing of members.


All enquiries regarding the High Cost Medicines policy or SAMEP should be directed to the Executive Officer to SAMEP at


Name Expertise Organisation and position
Professor Catherine Hill Chair Staff Specialist Rheumatology Unit, The Queen Elizabeth Hospital
Emeritus Professor Anne Tonkin Clinical Pharmacology, Cardiology Clinical pharmacologist, Royal Adelaide Hospital
Vacant Haematology  
Dr Chris Pearson Paediatrics Staff Specialist, General Medicine, Women's and Children's Hospital
Dr Ganessan Kichenadasse Oncology Consultant, Medical Oncology, Flinders Medical Centre
Dr Sudarsha Selva-Nayagam Oncology Director Medical Oncology, Royal Adelaide Hospital
Dr Michael Ward Clincial Pharmacy Lecturer, School of Pharmacy and Medical Sciences, UniSA
Ms Joy Gailer Clincial Pharmacy Clinical Pharmacist, Repatriation General Hospital
Ms Kirsty Scarborough Senior Clincial Pharmacist Senior Pharmacist, Royal Adelaide Hospital
Professor Tracy Merlin Health technology assessment/ health economics Director, Adelaide Health Technology Assessment Group, The University of Adelaide
Dr Jennie Louise Medical Ethics Lecturer in Medical Ethics, University of Adelaide
Michael Cousins Consumer advocacy Chief Executive, Health Consumers Alliance of SA
Dr Damian Clark Paediatrics, Neurology Staff specialist, Department of Neurology, Women’s and Children’s Hospital
Ms Catherine Booth Paediatric clinical pharmacy Senior Pharmacist, Women’s and Children’s Hospital
Ms Anne Mussared Consumer representative Health Consumers Alliance of SA – Consumer Advocate
Ms Naomi Burgess (ex officio) Director Director, Medicines & Technology Policy & Programs, SA Health
Ms Camille Schubert Health Economist  
Dr Benjamin Reddi Staff Specialist Intensive Care Unit, Royal Adelaide Hospital
Dr Pravin Hissaria Clinical Immunologist and Immunopathologist Royal Adelaide Hospital


^ Back to top