South Australian Medication Safety Advisory Group (SAMSAG)

The delivery of safe, quality health care is fundamental to the strategic directions of SA Health. SAMSAG is the peak SA Health advisory group to promote the safe use of medicines in South Australia.

Terms of reference (PDF 123KB)


SAMSAG roles are to:

  • support consistency and linkage between national and state agendas and action at Local Health Network (LHN) level
  • identify policy directions, priorities and strategic directions for service development and delivery, relevant to medication safety and medication safety-related research
  • ensure communication and information flow between local, state and national stakeholders
  • facilitate a culture of shared learning and ongoing practice improvement regarding medication safety.

Working groups

Working groups may be formed as required to a specific project or area of work. These groups will develop policies and provide direction for implementation of strategies at a local level to increase medication safety in priority areas.

Further information

For further information on SAMSAG and it's role, e-mail 


Chaired by Naomi Burgess, Director Medicines Technology, Policy and Programs, includes doctors, pharmacists, nurses and a consumer representative.

Representation Position Name
Medicines and Technology Policy & Programs (MTPP) Director Ms Naomi Burgess (Chair)
Senior Specialist Pharmacist Ms Kaye Barratt
Central Adelaide Local Health Network Team Leader, Clinical Pharmacy and Medicines Information Royal Adelaide Hospital Ms Kirsty Scarborough
Medication Safety Committee and Incident Review Group Member, Administrations Registrar, CALHN Vacant
Nursing Director, Medical Specialties, CALHN Ms Susan Waters
Consumer Consumer representative Mrs Helen Mikolaj
Country Health SA Local Health Network (CHSALHN) Chair, CHSALHN Drug and Therapeutics Committee Dr David Rosenthal
Director of Nursing, Naracoorte Health Service Ms Pam Schubert
Project Pharmacist / Executive Officer, CHSA LHN Drug and Therapeutics Committee Ms Hannah Loller
Northern Adelaide Local Health Network (NALHN) Clinical Pharmacist, Modbury Hospital Ms Denise Jeffs
Nursing Director Critical Care – Emergency Departments, NALHN Mr Andrew McGill
Director of Pharmacy Services, NALHN Mr Richard Marotti
Mental Health   Vacant
Nursing and Midwifery Project Nurse, Nursing and Midwifery Office Ms Sonny Ward
SA Ambulance Service (SAAS) Senior Pharmacist, Patient Safety and Quality Mr Peter Hayball
Safety and Quality Senior Project Officer, Safety and Quality Ms Anita Chambers
Southern Adelaide Local Health Network (SALHN) Anaesthetic Consultant & Chair, Medication Safety Advisory Group, SALHN Dr Mervyn Atkinson
Manager Clinical Governance Unit Ms Genevieve Sturman
Deputy Director, Pharmacy, Flinders Medical Centre Ms Ashley Symonds
Women's and Children's Health Network (WCHN) Medication Safety Officer, Women’s and Children’s Hospital Vacant
Director of Pharmacy, Women’s and Children’s Hospital/SA Pharmacy Mr Sean Turner


^ Back to top