South Australian Formulary Committee (SAFC)

The South Australian Formulary Committee (SAFC) was established October 2012 with the mission to develop and maintain the South Australian Medicines Formulary (SAMF). A statewide approach will optimise the quality use of medicines, improve and promote equity of access to medicines for patients and increase the cost-effectiveness of medicine use across SA Health.

Operating as a subcommittee of South Australian Medicines Advisory committee (SAMAC), the SAFC has a diverse range of expert membership across all Local Health Networks. Expertise includes a broad range of medical specialities, pharmacy, nursing, economic/epidemiological expertise and a consumer advocate.

SAFC will consider all medicines used and proposed for use within SA public hospitals and health services within therapeutic classes to determine a core list of medicines suitable for use across SA Health.

During formulary development and maintenance the SAFC will undertake consultation with key clinical stakeholders including Drug and Therapeutic Committees (DTCs), and key specialists or experts in the field. SAFC will work closely with the Enterprise Patient Administration System (EPAS) implementation team to ensure that clinicians are supported to prescribe according to the formulary and optimise consistency of approach across the state.

High cost medicines will continue to be evaluated by SA Medicines Evaluation Panel (SAMEP).

Further information

For further information or any enquiries relating to formulary applications or processes please contact the SAFC Executive Officer by email or phone (08) 8204 8998.


South Australian Formulary Committee Membership at October 2017

Representative area Name Job title
Chair Dr Tilenka Thynne Clinical Pharmacologist, Flinders Medical Centre
Medicines and Technology Programs and Out of Hospital Services Ms Naomi Burgess Director, Medicines and Technology Programs (MTP) and Out of Hospital Pharmacy Services, SA Health
Pharmacist Ms Celine Chee Specialist Pharmacist – Quality Use of Medicines, Northern Adelaide Local Health Network
Pharmacist Ms Anna McClure Director of Pharmacy, Central Adelaide Local Health Network, SA Pharmacy
SA Pharmacy, Statewide Formulary Portfolio Lead Mr Vaughn Eaton Director of Pharmacy, Southern Adelaide Local Health Network, SA Pharmacy
Senior Medical Dr Nicolas Farinola Clinical Pharmacologist, Royal Adelaide Hospital
Senior Medical Dr Sally Johns Staff Specialist Geriatrician, Northern Adelaide Local Health Network
Nurse/Midwifery/Nurse Practitioners Ms Paula Larsen Nurse Practitioner, Northern Mental Health Service
Mrs June Montgomery Emergency Nurse Practitioner, South Adelaide Local Health Network
Junior Medical Dr Angela Molga Registrar in Clinical Pharmacology, Royal Adelaide Hospital
Health Economist A/Prof John Moss Associate Professor, School of Population Health, University of Adelaide
Senior Medical Dr John Maddison Medical Co-Director, Aged Care, Rehabilitation & Palliative Care, Northern Adelaide Local Health Network
Junior Medical Dr Gao-Jing Ong Registrar in Clinical Pharmacology, The Queen Elizabeth Hospital
Women’s and Children’s Ms Usha Ritchie Deputy Director of Pharmacy, Women’s and Children’s Health Network
Junior Medical Dr Angela Rowland Registrar in Clinical Pharmacology, Flinders Medical Centre
Senior Medical Prof Sepehr Shakib Director Clinical Pharmacology, Royal Adelaide Hospital
Pharmacist Mr Ray Skinner Chief Pharmacist, Port Pirie Hospital
Consumer Representative Mrs Lynda Whiteway  
Executive Officer

(0.8 FTE)
Ms Lisa Robertson Senior Pharmacist, SA Pharmacy
Executive Officer (0.2 FTE) Ms Rachael Cheh Senior Pharmacist, SA Pharmacy


^ Back to top