Yorke Peninsula Health Advisory Council Inc.

he Yorke Peninsula Health Advisory Council (HAC) came into being on 1st July 2008, after the State Government’s Health Care Act 2008 removed the governance of local hospitals from local boards and established Health Advisory Councils to represent local communities.

The ownership of the property of the hospitals and aged care facilities is vested in the Health Advisory Council. It also manages funds donated or raised by the community, for use at the facilities.

The Health Advisory Council seeks to represent community needs to Country Health SA or the Minister for Health, and where necessary advocate for improvements.


The Yorke Peninsula Health Advisory Council can include:

  • Up to 8 community members
  • Nominee of local government
  • A local member of Parliament or his or her nominee
  • A medical practitioner member
  • A worker from Country Health SA




Rod Thomas
Port Pirie Health Advisory Council Inc.
C/- Port Pirie Regional Health Service
PO Box 546 
Port Pirie SA 5540

Current membership

Member Name
Presiding member Rod Thomas
Local member of Parliament Helen Colliver
Local government nominee Veronica Brundell
Medical practitioner representative  
Staff representative  
Community representatives Andrew Gravestocks
D'Arcy Button
Dorothy Marschall
Helen Tucker
Rex Angie


Meeting information

The Yorketown Health Advisory Council currently meet on a monthly basis rotating between Maitland, Minlaton and Yorketown on the first Wednesday of the month at 2:00pm. 

^ Back to top