Eastern Eyre Health Advisory Council Inc.

A major role of the Eastern Eyre Health Advisory Council (HAC) Inc is to relay ideas and views from the Community to the local Health Service.

These ideas are used in planning for new and improved services.

It also provides advice to the Minister for Health and the Chief Executive of Country Health South Australia on matters outside of the local area affecting residents of Eastern Eyre, and advocates on behalf of the community to promote the health interests of the community.

Eastern Eyre Health Advisory Council Inc holds accounts for the hospitals/health services in Cleve, Cowell and Kimba for receipt of donations and bequests.


Eastern Eyre Health & Aged Care was formed in July 2000 and came to being with the amalgamation of Cleve District Health & Aged Care, Kimba District Health & Aged Care & Cowell Community Health & Aged Care. The amalgamation process was undertaken to enable the communities in the District Council areas of Cleve, Franklin Harbour & Kimba to form a Multi Purpose Service and access the Commonwealth Rural Health Service funding for Primary Health Care.

Following the amalgamation there has been a huge increase in the primary health focus which is seen as a most valuable service to complement the existing acute & residential care services that have been available for many years.

Eastern Eyre Health and Aged Care is charged with providing a comprehensive range of health, aged and community services to the Cluster communities of Cleve, Franklin Harbour and Kimba. To ensure this range of services is meeting the needs of the three communities and is provided from a cost effective and equitable basis, significant organisational and financial development at Cluster level has taken place over recent years.

Meeting Information

The Eastern Eyre Health Advisory Council meetings are held bi-monthly on the last Tuesday at 7pm.

Meetings alternate between face to face at Kimba and Video Conference at each site.


The Eastern Eyre Health Advisory Council can include:

  • Up to 8 community members
  • Nominee of local government
  • A local member of Parliament or his or her nominee
  • A medical practitioner member
  • A worker from Country Health SA LHN



Current HAC members:

Member Name
Presiding member Dean Johnson
Member of parliament Robert Starr
Local government member Sharon Crettenden
Medical practitioner Vacant
Staff member Vacant
Community representatives Barbara Woolford
Colin Davey
Dean Haniford
Jennifer Smith
Kirralee Beinke
Lorraine Walford
Lyndon Crosby
Roger Nield


Dean Johnson
Eastern Eyre Health Advisory Council Inc
c/- Kimba Campus
PO Box 147
Kimba SA 5641

^ Back to top